The government of Hemant Soren wins the vote of trust in the Jharkhand Assembly’s special session.


The Jharkhand Assembly today voted in favour of the Hemant Soren government. A total of forty-five MPs led by the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) alliance voted in support of the motion of confidence. A debate was held when Chief Minister Hemant Soren submitted a resolution of confidence in the state assembly. The opposition raised a commotion and yelled anti-Soren slogans during the vote splitting. Following the vote on trust, the house adjourned sine die.

Sworn in as the state’s Chief Minister on July 4, 48-year old Soren was freed on bail just one week after being charged with money laundering related to a purported land swindle. This afternoon is probably when the ministers will take their oath of office. It’s conceivable that new faces will be added to the cabinet.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *