Zimbabwe to host ICC Women’s World Cup qualifiers


Zimbabwe will host the women’s World Cup qualifier between November 21 to December 5, the ICC announced on Thursday.

The 10-team tournament, the schedule for which will be announced in due course, decides three qualifiers for next year’s women’s World Cup to be held in New Zealand from March 4 to April 3.

They will join five sides who have already qualified through the ICC Women’s Championship — Australia, England, India, South Africa and hosts New Zealand.

The three qualifiers as well as the next two teams will also ensure places in the next ICC Women’s Championship (IWC) along with the top five from last time, as the number of teams in the third cycle of the IWC goes up from eight to 10 teams.

The teams that will be seen in action in the fifth edition of the tournament are Bangladesh, Ireland, the Netherlands, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Sri Lanka, Thailand, the United States, the West Indies and Zimbabwe.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *